Our Board


Hou Xuezhong – Chairman 

Appointed as Chairman on 29 January 2016, Mr Hou Xuezhong has more than 30 years’ experience in electrical power engineering. Since December 2015, Mr Hou Xuezhong has held the position of Chairman and Legal representative of SPIC Overseas. 

Since joining SDEPCI* in 1984, he has worked in numerous positions including General Design Engineer, Assistant to the President, Vice President, President and Chairman.

Mr Hou Xuezhong holds a Bachelor of Power Plant Architecture and Structure from Wuhan Institute of Water Resources and Hydropower Engineering, an Executive Master of Business (EMBA) from Tsinghua University, and a Masters of Nuclear Engineering from Tsinghua University.

*SDEPCI is a subsidiary of SPIC

Shi Yanbiao – Non-Executive Director 

Appointed as Non- Executive Director on 2 March 2016, Mr Shi Yanbiao has more than 20 years’ experience across market development, international project management, commercial management and corporate operation.  Mr Shi currently holds the position of President of SPIC Overseas.

Prior to this, he held positions of Engineer of The Ministry of Water Resources of the People’s Republic of China, Manager of China Three Gorges Corporation, General Manager of Electrical Power Department of China National Technical Imp. & Exp. Corporation, Lead of Commercial Department, International Business Department, USA Representative Office and Brazil Representative Office of State Nuclear Power Technology Corporation.

Mr Shi holds a Bachelor of Water Resources and Power Engineering Management from the Hohai University, and a Master of Business Administration from the Tianjin University.

Li Qizhao – Non-Executive Director

Appointed as Non-Executive Director on 18 May 2016, Mr Li Qizhao is Vice President of SPIC Overseas. He is responsible for development, construction and operational management of Renewable Energy projects. 

Mr Li Qizhao has 20 years’ experience in electrical power engineering across management, operations, construction and project development, with a primary focus on hydro, wind and solar power. Mr Li has previously held the following positions: Senior Engineer of North China Electric Power Research Institute, General manager of CPI Carbon Asset Management, and Division Chief of the Department of Hydro and New Energy of SPIC.

Mr Li’s academic qualifications include a Bachelor of Electric and Hydraulic Engineering from the Wuhan University, and a Master of Science from the University of Manitoba.

Pei Wenlin – Non-Executive Director

Appointed as Non-Executive Director on 29 January 2016, Mr Pei Wenlin currently holds the role of Deputy Chief Engineer and General Manager of Renewable Energy & International Business for Wuling Power.

He has more than 10 years’ experience in the power industry, which has included developing power projects, as well as the management and M&A of international businesses.

From 2010-2012, Mr Pei Wenlin was responsible for international business market development in his role as Division Chief of SPIC International Business Department. Prior to that, he has held various positions including General Director of the Planning and Engineering Department in Wuling Power and General Manager of Guizhou Qingshuijiang Hydropower Company.

Mr Pei’s academic qualifications include a Master of Engineering from Tsinghua University.

Michael Fuge – Executive Director

Appointed as Executive Director on 29 January 2016, Mr Michael Fuge has held the position of Chief Executive Officer at Pacific Hydro since July 2014. 

With 20 years of international experience in the energy sector, his career has focused on driving transformations in performance in the areas of growth, productivity, efficiency, safety and people engagement. Michael has deep energy experience across exploration, production and distribution, having led large teams and complex, large-scale developments in New Zealand, Oman and Brunei.

Michael holds a Bachelor of Engineering (Commerce, Chemical and Process Engineering, Hons) and a Master of Commerce (Hons) from the University of Canterbury.

Roger Gill – Non-Executive Director

Appointed as Non-Executive Director on 1 December 2010, Mr Roger Gill has over 35 years’ of experience across management, operations, construction and project development in the energy and water sectors. His primary focus is on hydropower, water resource management, wind power and other renewable energy development. 

Prior to establishing his international consulting practice in late 2007, he was Executive General Manager at Hydro Tasmania and Chief Executive Officer of Tasmanian Railway Pty Ltd. Roger is currently a director of Tasmanian Irrigation Pty Ltd and Tasmanian Railway Pty Ltd, and a board member of the International Hydropower Association.

Roger’s academic qualifications include a Bachelor of Engineering from the University of Tasmania and the Advanced Management Program at Harvard Business School.

David Jana – Non-Executive Director

Appointed as Non-Executive Director on 1 August 2014, Mr David Jana is also the Founding Partner of Moonvalley Capital, an advisory and investment boutique focused in Latin America. Prior to this, he held executive positions at BankBoston in America and Brazil and was the regional head at Bank of America Merrill Lynch for South America-ex Brazil.

An economist, he has vast experience in capital markets, investment banking and project financing, with a deep understanding of the electricity and finance markets in Chile, Brazil, Mexico, Central America, Colombia and Peru.

David holds a Bachelor of Economic Sciences from Pontificia Universidad Católica and Universidad de Santiago.